The Stars and Stripes

The 21-Star Flag: This Flag became the Official United States Flag on July 4th,1819. A star was added for the admission of Illinois (December 3rd, 1818) and was to last for just one year. The only President to serve under this flag was James Monroe (1817-1825).



The 23-Star Flag: This Flag became the Official United States Flag on July 4th, 1820. Two stars were added for the admission of Alabama (the 22nd state on December 14th,1819) and Maine (the 23rd state on March 15, 1820) and was to last for 2 years.

The only President to serve under this flag was James Monroe (1817-1825).



The 24-Star Flag: This Flag became the Official United States Flag on July 4th,1822. A star was added for the admission of Missouri (August 10th, 1821) and was to last for fourteen years.

The Presidents who served under this flag included James Monroe (1817-1825), John Quincy Adams (1825-1829), and Andrew Jackson (1829-1837).



The 25-Star Flag: This Flag became the Official United States Flag on July 4th, 1836. A star was added for the admission of Arkansas (June 15th, 1836) and was to last for just one year.

The two Presidents to serve under this flag were Andrew Jackson (1829-1837) and Martin Van Buren (1837-1841).



SAR Secretary, Fernando de Leyba Chuck Simms 206 Old Chesapeake Drive Wentzville, MO 63385 National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution

CARRORCER

The Fernando de Leyba Chapter

> Volume 8, No 03 April 3, 2005



http://www.geocities.com/fernandodeleyba/

PLACE LABLE HERE

March Meeting

The Fernando de Leyba Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution met Monday, March 14, 2005, at Wilikers restaurant, St. Charles, MO. There were 22 compatriots and their wife's in attendance along with two guests.

Call to Order and Pledges

President Steve Baldwin led the meeting. Compatriots Ed Morris, Norval Hood and Steve Baldwin were in full uniform. Compatriot Steve Baldwin led the chapter in the National Anthem and the Pledge to the S.A.R., the pledge of Allegiance was lead by Stu Ballou. The Invocation was lead by Compatriot Bob Baldwin.

Activity and Committee Reports

Treasurer: President Steve Baldwin gave the treasurers report. It was as follows: Beginning Bal Ending Bal

General Fund: \$1,366.81 \$1369.81

Sick & Welfare: no report

Veterans Administration:

Genealogy: no report

Color Guard:

Past

- DAR George Washington Celebration in Lafayette Park, 2/21
- NSSAR Trustees meeting 3/11-12

Coming up

None

Swearing in Officers

The Fernando de Leyba Officers were sworn in by MOSSAR President Jim Boyd. The 2005-2006 officers are:

President: Steve Baldwin
Vice President: John White
Secretary: Chuck Simms
Treasurer: Jim Borgman
Registrar: Keith Morris
Chaplin: Dennis Hahn
Historian: Bob Baldwin
Sgt. Of Arms: Bob Raines



Recessional and Adjournment

Steve Baldwin led the recessional and compatriot Chaplain Dennis Hahn gave the closing prayer, then the meeting was adjourned.

Next Meeting

Monday, April 11, 2005 7 PM at Wilikers restaurant 1566 Country Club Plaza St. Charles, Mo 636-947-1441

Guest Speaker

Our guest this month was Jim Roe and his wife Yvonne. Jim has been an amateur astronomer for many years and as a missionary in Mexico, he had the time and opportunity to pursue this hobby. Now back in St. Charles, Jim is working with St. Charles County to create an observatory west of Hwy 40 off Hwy 94.

You can find out more about Jim and Yvonne at http://www.jamesroe.com



MOSSAR Annual Meeting

Our annual state meeting will be in Branson, MO this year on April 29 and 30th. It will be held at the Grand Plaza Hotel. The guest speaker will be NSSAR Treasurer General Nathan White. The full registration cost per member is \$100, or you can pay per event.

Fri: SAR Member Registration \$20 Fri: Dinner Buffet \$24 Sat: Memorial Breakfast \$16 Sat: Awards Luncheon \$18 Sat: Installation Banquet \$28

Hotel rates are \$58 for a standard room, \$63 for a King room, \$68 for a King mini suite, and \$120 for a Family unit. Hotel reservation deadline is March 29th.